Closing Time

THE END IS NEIGH.

Wow, just wow. I legitimately can’t believe that I’ve lived here for almost 4 months already. I feels like yesterday that I first got off that plane with no wallet and wandered these cobble stone streets looking for my little apartment. And while I’m so stoked to be with my homies and family once again, I don’t think I’m quite ready to leave…

TELEVISION - Community - Troy 01

All hiccups aside, I am going to miss this place immensely. Its a strange place, Aarhus. It’s not like studying in Barcelona or Rome or London. Aarhus is a relatively small place, quiet at times, with practically no skyscrapers or gigantic office buildings. No chain restaurants or Costcos. Its a real place. The Danish term “hygge” encompasses this place and its spirit perfectly. I think I’ve mentioned hygge before, but for those of you who don’t know, hygge is an untranslatable Danish term that roughly equates best to a scenario like this: sitting by a fire with your closest friends and family, warm and cozy, drinking beer or wine (probably beer knowing the Danes) and just sharing time and making memories.

tom

The crappy translation that we English-speakers use is “cozy” but its sooooooo much more than that. It’s about surrounding yourself with good vibes, enjoying the little bits of life and sharing them with those you care about. Its that warm glow you feel in the middle of the night when you step back and realize that THIS exact moment is what life is all about, THIS is what gives me purpose and THIS is something I’m going to remember for the rest of my life. Has that ever happened to you? Where you’re with your friends and then suddenly you just have this overwhelming feeling of how great this moment is and you force yourself to take a mental picture? If not, then this makes no sense to you. But for me, this happens constantly.

jim and pam

So, if you’re picking a place to study abroad next semester, keep that term in mind. While Aarhus isn’t exactly a booming metropolis with flashy nightclubs and gimmicky tourist traps, it offers something much more special–a deeper human experience. Don’t get me wrong, there are TONS of fun places to go on the weekend and you’ll have some of the craziest/most fun nights of your life here, but it’s a different kind of experience. It means more, in my opinion, than another night out at some douchy club. It means it’ll have you like Chandler and Joey when Joey moves out on your last day…

joey

So to all of my new friends– Courtney, Axel, Abby, Kristie, Darcee, Andrea, Darcee, Erica, Taylah, Rebecca, Alex, Adrian, Ciara, Eddie, Jorge, Maxi, Mikey, Ollie, Rhys, Mark, Mike, Lily, Barfin, Casper, all you Spanish psychos and so so so many more I’m forgetting– I’m gonna miss every one of you. So much. I’ve changed because of y’all and only in ways that are for the better.

Leave a Reply

